Escape into fiction

The forest, the trees, the rustling of the wind… as I walk through the thick forest, I remember my past lives;

TIGER, tiger, burning bright
In the forests of the night,
What immortal hand or eye
Could frame thy fearful symmetry? 

At first the tiger, beautifully dangerous in its solitude. My home in the thick forest hills, on an island unknown.

In what distant deeps or skies
Burnt the fire of thine eyes?
On what wings dare he aspire?
What the hand dare seize the fire?

My second life, a warrior, strong and fierce. My tiger’s soul pushing me to never give up on my dreams… a helper to the people of my tribe. With the knife I fought for what was right, I fought for the safety of my people.

And what shoulder and what art Could twist the sinews of thy heart?
And when thy heart began to beat,
What dread hand and what dread feet?

My third life ended before it really began. A little boy who found his end in the war, when a shell hit our house. Me and my family consumed in a smoking crater.

What the hammer? what the chain?
In what furnace was thy brain?
What the anvil?
What dread grasp
Dare its deadly terrors clasp?

My fourth life was short and brutal; I had been an orphan, trained to fight in someone else’s conflict. I became a terror lurking in the night, my loveless life making my mind derraged. They dreaded my knife in the night, my lonesome crying striking fear in even the strongest of hearts. I met my end in a hale of gunfire… my last thoughts looking at the sky, hoping to find my love in a better place.

When the stars threw down their spears,
And water’d heaven with their tears,
Did He smile His work to see?
Did He who made the lamb make thee?

This life;
The brutal beginnings in a loveless family, I had to grow up tough. Even as an infant the knife became my fammiliar friend. Combat became my escape, feeling so familiar. It almost ended one night, as I shouted in rage at God, why she had kept love away from me for so many years, so many lives.

And then one day, I saw her…

My soul recognised her as I remember my heart saying “Oh there you are! I’ve been looking for you!”

And a year later she brought me to the forest, to come see the waterfall. As we walked the damp slippery path, my heart remembered all my lives before. I know it was hard for me to trust you. Even now I struggle accepting your love so pure…

If I could have one wish, it would be to give my next life to you. You showed me love many lives could not find.

Tiger, tiger, burning bright
In the forests of the night,
What immortal hand or eye
Dare frame thy fearful symmetry?

A lifetime and many years later, I walk home in the rain. My path had been happy, yet something is missing… A car stops next to me on the road, and I see strangely familiar eyes… and then she said “Hello! Need a ride home?”

Havoc

2 thoughts on “Escape into fiction

Leave a Reply

