Purple flowers

How can small purple flowers change a life?

Metaphors exist all around us. Simply by speaking in metaphor one can change hearts and minds alike. The last few months all my time was consumed to build a solar powered car and drive it across the country for the sasol solar challenge.

Between the sleeploss and rushing one somehow becomes keenly aware of the things that may have passed us by normally. One morning I was praying as I was walking, asking God why happiness was such a scarce thing in my life.

A few months ago I had seen some tiny purple flowers on a shooting range,  between all the shellcasings and flying bullets. Just like my life.

The moment I asked about my happiness, I passed by a patch of purple flowers. The same kind as on the range. And the closer I came to the camp the more purple flowers surrounded me. It became so overgrown that I found myself in a sea of purple.

What does it all mean?

Maybe it was meaningless, yet to me it held a lesson. Happiness may be hard to spot while in conflict. Yet, when we push through, the happiness will grow until we are engulfed by its splendor.

There are metaphors all around us, talking to our deaf ears. It is my whish that you may see all the purple flowers at your feet. All you need to do is take a moment to look

With warm regards
Havoc

Leave a Reply

